A weekend together

Weekends where it’s just Brett and me, with no visitors, no travel plans, etc., are few and far between. Brett works in retail, and he works every other weekend. We typically schedule visits from family and friends and weekend getaways around his schedule, so there are many weekends where we are away from home or are entertaining guests. I love traveling and having visitors, but when it’s just the two of us, it’s blissful.

But very, very, very soon, it’s no longer going to be just me and my hubby. We will have another member of our little family, and I know our time alone together may be few and far between. Because this past weekend could potentially be the last one before the little guy arrives, we enjoyed every relaxing minute of it.

On Friday, I was really wanting to have a date night with my hubby, but I had been in a weird funk all day. I was extremely tired in the morning, and my legs were aching for most of the day. Brett and I had a spur-of-the-moment lunch together. The yummy Chinese food and seeing my guy definitely helped perk me up. But spending the evening at home sounded way better than being hangry at a busy restaurant and trying to rush to a 7 p.m. move. Yes, we are no longer capable of staying awake through the late show.

We wound up ordering appetizers from a local bar/restaurant – they were pretty terrible – and curled up on the couch with the dogs to watch “The Intern.” I was really excited for this movie, but it was disappointing. It started off really well, but then it began to drag toward the end and fell into cliches.

IMG_1027

The cute view I had while watching a movie Friday night. 🙂

On Saturday, we slept in as late as our dogs would let us (8:30, so not bad) and lounged around for most of the morning. Brett made a Starbucks run, I watched a pretty silly movie, “Another Me,” while Brett played video games. Before we left the house, one of the final pieces for Oliver’s room – his rocket lamp – arrived on our doorstep. I couldn’t wait to see it, so we got it out of the box and set it up. It’s so adorable!

IMG_1028

I love how this stand in Oliver’s room has come together!

We decided to see a late-afternoon matinee that day, so we splurged on a big lunch at Red Lobster. It had been a while since we had actually been on a date, and it was nice being able to talk, laugh and share our food. After lunch, we went to the mall where we did some birthday shopping for our nieces and picked up a few random items at Target.

After a quick stop at home, we headed to the theater to see “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.” I love both film and literary versions of “Pride and Prejudice.” I tried to read “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies,” but I just couldn’t get into it. I was convinced I would like it better in the film version, and I was right. The actors and action were great, and there were way more comedic moments than I was expecting. Plus, Brett and I are huge fans of “Doctor Who,” and our favorite doctor, Matt Smith, did a fantastic job as Mr. Collins. I couldn’t stop giggling every time he was on the screen.

With a big lunch and movie theater snacks settling in our bellies, neither one of us were very hungry for supper. Nothing on TV sounded appealing to watch, and we spent a good hour trying to figure out not only what we wanted to eat but what to do with the rest of our night. I wound up munching on chips and salsa and Brett ate cereal while we watched “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.” Not too shabby at all. 🙂

I woke up at 8 a.m. Sunday, and after eating some breakfast, I still felt pretty groggy. I went back to bed and ended up sleeping another two hours. It was glorious!

Once I got up, I did a little cleaning around the house, Brett and I had lunch at Qdoba and we did some grocery shopping. I cleaned my car out when we got home, and began reading a new book, “At the Water’s Edge” by Sara Gruen.  It’s not quite what I was expecting, but it’s pretty good so far!

IMG_1032

There was a lot of cuddling happening at our house over the weekend. 🙂

Since our appetizers on Friday were less than appealing, Brett decided to try his hand at making his own for supper on Sunday. He made a cheesy bean dip, cheeseburger sliders and loaded potato skins. I should have just made him cook on Friday because it was so delicious!

IMG_1033

This photo does not do Brett’s cooking justice. So yummy! 

Now you would probably assume we ate these while watching the Super Bowl, but if you know us, that is definitely not what we did. Neither one us are sports aficionados, so like every year before this, we did not tune in. Instead, we found a new show on Hulu that we both enjoyed, “You, Me and the Apocalypse.” We are huge fans of “The Office” and “Parks and Recreation,” and there are actors from both shows on this new program. It’s wacky and funny, and I can’t wait to see what happens next.

To some, our weekend seemed pretty low-key, maybe even boring. But for us, it was a weekend we always enjoy having together. We did our typical, good-natured bickering before lunch on Saturday because we were both hangry and like to tease each other. We got to relax and indulge in our favorite pastimes: reading for me, video games for Brett and watching our favorite shows together. It was quiet and relaxing and exactly what we needed.

 

Leave a Reply

