Savoring each moment

12510365_10208688902962715_1142832084722245856_n

The hubby and me when I was 33 weeks along. And still feeling kind of cute. πŸ™‚

I have been pretty whiny lately. I’m told by friends and family that the last few weeks of pregnancy are the hardest, and they most definitely have been, both physically and mentally.

The bump I once couldn’t wait to have is no longer as cute and fun to have around my midsection. My clothing options have dwindled to just maternity clothes, and I dread having to cycle through the same selection of outfits each week or only having two pairs of jeans that fit.

I still sleep pretty well at night, but it’s the waking up every two hours or less to pee that drives me mad. Getting out of bed is literally a pain. My bladder feels like it’s about to burst and attempting to sit up only increases the incredible pressure. I’m glad only Brett is around at these moments when I waddle to the bathroom.

I thought I got away without getting stretch marks, but they decided to appear the other day. Granted there are only a few (for now), but it still left me feeling sad and defeated. My body has become strange and foreign as it continues to grow and grow. I knew pregnancy can and will change your body in many ways, but it’s still surprising when you think you are in the clear but then something sneaks up and surprises you. Have I mentioned I don’t really like surprises?

I laid on the bed the other night, staring at the mountain my stomach has turned into, complaining to Brett about all these changes. I have been telling people that I want our son to stay put until at least 37 weeks, but at the same time, I’m eager and anxious to no longer be pregnant.

But then I read thisΒ from a fellow blogger at Baby on the Brehm, and my perspective was turned around.

These are the last weeks it will be just me and my little guy, every single moment of every single day. These are the last moments I will feel him squirming around inside my belly or the little flutters when he has the hiccups. There are only a few weeks left where I can giddily grab my hubby’s hand and place it on my belly as our son jumps and jives. These precious times we have together are dwindling, and I want to hold on to each one as long as I can. I yearn to hold our baby boy, kiss him and just see his sweet face, but this chapter of life is fleeting. He will soon be my newborn son that will transform into a toddler, a child, a preteen, a teenager and a man far, far too soon. He is healthy, and I hope happy, right where he is at this moment. These minor physical changes, aches and pains are worth it. I will never have these moments with Oliver again, and I know they are ones I will always treasure and will miss when they are gone.

2 thoughts on “Savoring each moment

  1. Liz says:

    Ah I teared up at that last part. I’m so with you. I’m 35 weeks and 2 days today (the days totally matter now) and I have so much back pain, leg swelling, and wake up with numb and painful hands every morning. Jackson squishes my bladder and I have all this lower abdominal pressure and it all drives me crazy. And don’t even get me started on the clothes! I’m too small to fit into most maternity clothes (I’m only 5′ tall and was 98lbs pre-pregnancy, so most things are HUGE on me). But I still love having him in there and am really going to miss him being my little buddy in there! I love feeling him move around all the time and poking his little body in there. It’s just so amazing to grow a little baby and have them with you all the time and I love it way more than I ever thought I would. I’m so ready for him to come out but then again, not really ready for this part to be over either, even though I’m so anxious for him to GET OUT OF ME! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • bebsgirl1 says:

      I am right there with you! It’s extremely challenging to get anything accomplished these days besides sitting on the couch. πŸ™‚ But I have loved getting to know him through his movements and karate chopping of my bladder! I am definitely going to miss those kicks and flutters, but I’m also ready for him to evacuate so I can see him in person and no longer feel like a whale!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

