One last trip

IMG_0995

Ready for a road trip!

I had been eagerly awaiting my best friend’s call all summer to tell me that she was engaged. We all knew it was coming. It was just a matter of time. She had wanted a winter wedding, particularly a January wedding. She called me shortly after their engagement to let me know the wedding was January 23.

I was thrilled and nervous at the same time. Nervous not because I was going to be a bridesmaid, but because on the day of her wedding I would be two days shy of 35 weeks pregnant. And the wedding was to be in Omaha, a 10-hour drive from my home in Wyoming. Over the coming months, I asked my doctor multiple times if I was going to be OK to make the trip. She reassured me that as long as everything was going smoothly with my pregnancy, it should be fine. She reminded me to take plenty of stops, keep my legs elevated as much as possible and drink lots of water.

Just in case Oliver did decide to make an early debut while we were away from home, we made sure to install his carseat, bring his diaper bag and my hospital bag. Better safe than sorry.

IMG_0974

Our sleepy pups on the long car ride.

Thankfully, we were able to break up our trip to Omaha into two legs. The first night we drove three hours and stopped for the night at my parents’ house. It was wonderful to see them again one more time before Oliver arrives and to sleep in a comfy, familiar place. On day two, we stopped three times for bathroom breaks, lunch, etc.

While I had been nervous for the long trip, my excitement to see my best friend get married overcame all other emotions. Brett and I were in bed by 10 p.m. Friday, which helped me have a fun, fabulous time on her wedding day.

bride

The beautiful bride and me on her big day!

I had a blast hanging out with the bride, her bridesmaids and family, getting our hair fixed while we chatted about everything under the sun. The day was much colder than the weatherman predicted (it was supposed to be 44 degrees and sunny; in reality, it was 28 degrees, overcast and blustery), but nothing could bring the giddy bride and her bridal party down on this day.

The ceremony was held in the same church the bride’s grandparents and parents had been married in, and it was absolutely breathtaking. And we had an amazing time at the reception, with delicious food and a dessert buffet! Yum! I wasn’t able to dance as much as I normally would at a wedding, but Brett and I had a few slow dances and enjoyed the merriment around us.

brett

Looking fancy for the wedding. πŸ™‚

We left early Sunday morning in order to make it back to Casper that night. We made a few pit stops along the way, including lunch with Brett’s parents and siblings in Kearney. It was very quick, but it was so nice to see everyone and have lunch together.

Even if I wasn’t pregnant, this drive wouldn’t have been fun. It was already long to begin with, but about an hour or so from home, we ran into snow and black ice on the roads. Brett is a great, cautious driver, but it was still scary with cars and semis zooming by us in the dark, wintery conditions. Thankfully, we made it home safe and sound after about 11 hours on the road.

Overall, the trip went much better than I had thought it would. I was terrified that Oliver would suddenly make the decision to come early, and he would be born 10 hours away from home. While Brett and I both like the idea of having Nebraska as his place of birth (oh, how we miss you, dear, sweet homeland!), I didn’t like the idea of not being under the care of the doctors we know and then having to make a very, very long drive back with a newborn! Thankfully, he stayed put, and we were able to enjoy a glorious weekend away that included lots of love, friends, family and an amazing wedding. Oh, and did I mention food? I was a happy camper when I was able to eat my favorite foods I can’t get in Casper, including Krispy Kreme doughnuts, Runza, Amigos and Ruby Tuesday! πŸ™‚ The icing on the top of a memorable weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

