We’re having a baby!

A future timelord is on his or her way! :)

A future timelord is on his or her way! 🙂

I was convinced when I began writing about my diagnosis of polycystic ovarian syndrome, that it would be a months-long series about the effects of the medicine I was taking, how I was handling the diagnosis emotionally (probably not very well, knowing me) and how Brett and I were tackling this together.

But, if you have been following along, those posts haven’t happened. I took about a month off from blogging because everything I wanted to write about revolved around something I couldn’t tell the world yet. And it was all for one very big and happy reason. I’m pregnant!

I didn’t think I would get to say those words so soon. It all seemed too good to be true (stay tuned for a post all about my doubts and fears), but after visiting my doctor, getting blood work done and seeing our teeny, tiny baby at 6 weeks gestation, this was truly happening.

We told our families right away, and then slowly began breaking the news to our closest friends. I wanted to be sure our closest friends and family knew before finding out via social media. So we waited — probably a little longer than most couples — to announce the news to the world. It’s been excruciating to see other friends on Facebook announcing they are expecting around the same time we are. All I wanted to do was to shout it from the rooftops, that yes, the Bebensee clan is expanding. But we waited. For one, I wanted to be well into the second trimester before I blasted the news to everyone I knew. And two, we are complete nerds and wanted to announce our little bundle of joy during the season premiere of “Doctor Who,” which was Sept. 19. It was only appropriate for a baby due on Feb. 29 to have a wibbly-wobbly, timey-wimey birth announcement. 🙂

While I still have to remind myself that this is actually happening, I thank God everyday that he has bestowed upon us life’s most precious gift. I believe the power of prayer how an enormous role, and I thank every single person who lifted us up or sent good vibes our way. It worked!

We are trying to prepare as best we can to be the best parents we can be, and I know it’s going to be truly terrifying at times. But I knew from the moment it was confirmed we are going to be parents, there has been nothing but love and adoration (and worry) for this gift from God. Now, all we can do is wait for February when we are able to bring our precious little one home.

Leave a Reply

