A “Wicked” Busy Weekend

wicked us

Brett, me and my mom at “Wicked.”

Whew! This weekend was a whirlwind, but it was full of fun and family! Truly the best kind.

Brett and I took Friday off of work so we could go to Denver to see the Broadway musical “Wicked” at the Buell Theater. I had read the book a while ago, and I have been wanting to see this show for a long time. When I found out it was going to be in Denver, I immediately went online to purchase tickets for Brett, my mom and me. My dad was able to get most of his work at home done (he is a farmer) and came along with my mom. He didn’t go to the show, but I’m glad I was able to see him on Father’s Day weekend. 🙂

My sister-in-law, Sara, is amazing and agreed to watch our dogs while we went to the show and stayed overnight in downtown Denver. We stopped by her house to drop off the dogs and grabbed a quick lunch before we continued on to the city.

My mom and I are obsessed with Gordmans, so we made plans to meet there. After shopping for a bit, we made the trek into downtown. I always forget how incredible and small being in a big city makes me feel. It’s fun and exciting, and I love all there is to do and see. But I also get stressed out by all the traffic and people. As much as I love traveling and seeing all the sites, I’m thankful to live in a smaller community!

We ate dinner downtown, walked around a bit and then headed to the show.

My mom and me before the show.

My mom and me before the show.

The stage before the show began.

The stage before the show began.

The Buell Theater is gorgeous, and the show was fantastic. There were quite a few changes from the book, but it was funny, dramatic and the music was incredible. Glinda was by far my favorite part. She was hilarious, and she stole the show whenever she was on stage. Even Brett — who I wasn’t sure was going to like it — was in awe. We both agreed we need to come to Denver more often for shows like this.

After breakfast the next day, we said goodbye to my parents and made our way back to Wyoming. Brett’s brother and dad were on their way to our house, and we wanted to make sure we were home by the time they arrived.

We were able to catch up with Brett’s dad and his brother on the interstate, and we arrived in Casper at the same time. Brett grilled burgers for dinner, I took a long walk with his dad and our dogs, and we all watched “The Cobbler” on Netflix before we went to bed.

The next day, the weather was absolutely beautiful and we were on our way to Three Crowns Golf Course for the guys to play 18 holes of golf. I tagged along, driving the golf cart and hanging out with Brett and his family. This time, I brought our new Canon EOS Rebel T5 camera and was taking photos of all the birds (pelicans!) at the course and the guys golfing.

The guys looking golf-ready at the course.

The guys looking golf-ready at the course.

Brett working on his putting.

Brett working on his putting.

Pelicans! They are so cool. :)

Pelicans! They are so cool. 🙂

Toward the end of the golfing excursion, it began to get hot and I was ready for lunch. Thankfully, we got done soon after my crankiness began to set in and had lunch at Johnny J’s.

Clearly, the sun took it out of us, and we all took a nap once we got home. The laziness continued as we ordered pizza for supper and lounged around.

I had to work on Monday, but Brett took the guys to Rotary Park and around town. After I got off work, we indulged in an amazing steak dinner grilled by my husband.

It was so refreshing to be able to get out of a town for a quick trip and to spend time with family. It makes me even more excited for all the upcoming adventures we have planned for the summer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

