Kindness comes full circle

Each week I have been trying to spread a little extra kindness into the world. But over the past week, I was the recipient of love and kindness in more than one way. I have been going through a tough part of my life, and my friends went above and beyond to let me know they are there for me.

My best friend and I have been besties since we were freshman in high school. We tell the story all the time how we never got along until we were the only girls stuck in a roomful of boys for study hall. We banded together, and we became best friends. I have made many friendships since I was 14, but this is the one that has lasted the longest. Together, we weathered high school, college, breakups and much more. She has been there for me during my best days and my worst. She is my person. (“Grey’s Anatomy” fans will understand!)

Before moving to Wyoming, we only lived a few hours from one another. Spending weekends together happened pretty frequently, but now we see each other only a few times a year. We still have extremely long phone conversations and randomly send each other small items (cards, giftcards, goofy Valentine’s) in the mail.

The other day, she texted me that she had shipped something to me and to keep an eye out for it. She always outdoes me when it comes to gift giving. Whether it’s Christmas gifts, birthday gifts or throwing me an amazing bridal shower (I still have time to one-up her on that!), she goes above and beyond.

The awesome gifts I received from my best friend.

The awesome gifts I received from my best friend.

So I shouldn’t have been surprised when I received a box packed full of Bath and Body Works goodies and a card with a hilarious but sweet message. It was so nice, and I’m still trying to think of the best way to pay her back.

One of my newest friends is someone I met about a year ago when we moved. She worked with my husband at Target, and she was nice enough to hang out with me when I didn’t know anyone in our new home. Luckily, we have a lot in common and became great friends.

I'm so excited to crack this book open! :)

I’m so excited to crack this book open! πŸ™‚

We met for dinner last week, and she gave Brett and me “Doctor Who: The Official Miscellany.” It was completely unexpected and an incredibly sweet gesture. I gave her a big hug to avoid breaking down in tears in public.

The love and words of kindness I received from family, friends and strangers the past few weeks were so wonderful and uplifting. Receiving these amazing gifts from my close friends was more amazing than I could have imagined. It was just another reminder that my life is full of wonderful, kind and loving people. I’m so blessed to know them and call them my friends and family. It makes me even more inspired to pay it forward and show them how much I care. ❀

2 thoughts on “Kindness comes full circle

Leave a Reply

