Sweet summertime

Brett and I are terrible at making future plans. Because Brett works every other weekend (retail sucks), visits from family and friends and vacations have to be planned out to fit in with his schedule. It can get pretty rough. Over the next few months, he will be working two weekends in a row and then have two weekends off to coincide with what we have planned. Despite that, I’m so excited for summer 2015.

So far, both of our parents have been to Casper to visit us. While the weather was wet and cool while Brett’s parents were in town and their golfing excursion was canceled, we still had a great time. We shopped, saw Tomorrowland in theaters, ate great food, played cards, walked the Platte River Trails and hung out at our house. And Brett and his dad got matching shoes. πŸ™‚

Like father, like son!

Like father, like son!

The following weekend, my parents came to visit! The weather was gorgeous! On Saturday, we made random stops around town (Target, Menard’s, Hobby Lobby, an RV dealer), took a walk to an open house of a beautiful, new home near our house, took photos in our summery attire, ordered pizza and watched the “Outlander” finale.

mom and me

dad and me

After lunch on Sunday, we ventured to Casper Mountain for a hike. We took my parents to our favorite spot, Rotary Park, where you can walk right up to Garden Creek Falls. It’s absolutely gorgeous, and the weather was perfect for a hike.

creek

falls

waterfall

The night ended with a steak dinner and a new episode of “Game of Thrones.” Amazing!

Our summer has already been wonderful and eventful, and there is more to come. Here is what we have planned for the rest of the summer:

  • A trip to Denver to see “Wicked” at the Buell Theater. I have been wanting to see the Broadway show “Wicked” for a very long time. I have read the book, and I can’t wait to see this performance. I love that we are a little bit closer to Denver to be able to go to events like this.
  • A visit from Brett’s brother and dad. Brett’s brother, Todd, always makes a trip out to Denver for his birthday, and he has worked a visit to our house into his agenda. I know there will be golfing and grilling involved when he visits.
  • Visiting my family in July. My sister and her family are planning a trip from their home in Pennsylvania to my parents’ house in Nebraska. They are staying for a week, and we are going to go down for a weekend to hang out. I’m looking forward to some family time and jetskiing!
  • And our biggest trip of the summer, traveling to New York for Brett’s sister’s wedding. Brett’s older sister is getting married in New York state. Because my sister only lives a few hours away, we will be spending some time with her, as well as traveling to the wedding. There will be lots of driving (we will travel through five states on the East Coast) and family time involved, but we also plan to visit Gettysburg and Hersheypark. I can’t wait!

Along with our weekend getaways and big vacation, I’m hoping we can squeeze in some traveling around our state as well. I have heard a lot about Thermopolis, Wyoming, and I think it would make for an amazing day trip. It’s going to be a busy summer that will probably fly by, but I can’t wait for all of the adventures. πŸ™‚

What are your summer plans?

One thought on “Sweet summertime

Leave a Reply

