Books I can’t put down

Reading is one of my favorite pastimes. I love snuggling up in our recliner with a blanket and good book. And it must be a real, made-of-paper book.

If I see an interesting novel while strolling through the book section at Target, I tend to snatch it up. Here are just a few books I have read recently that I highly recommend:

Amazon.com

Amazon.com

“Outlander” series by Diana Gabaldon. If you have read my blog, you probably know I’m a wee bit obsessed with the “Outlander” television series. The book is just as wonderful. It’s full of rich detail, character development, fantasy, history, romance and heart-pounding scenes. You will find yourself zipping through the pages just to see what happens next. Prepare yourself, these books are extremely long but so worth it!

Amazon.com

Amazon.com

“Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes. I had seen rave reviews about this book and discovered it was being made into a movie! I always try to read the book before I see the movie, so I made sure to scoop this up on one of my many trips to Target. I’m about halfway into it, and it’s so good! Claire is a young woman who is desperate to find work during a recession in England. She finds a job taking care of a young man, Will, who is a quadriplegic. While the job is challenging for a number of reasons, Claire finds herself doing whatever she can to make Will happy. It has me laughing, and I am almost positive by the end I will be crying!

Amazon.com

Amazon.com

“The Rosie Project” by Graeme Simsion. If you like the TV show, “The Big Bang Theory,” you will like this book. It follows a scientist who comes up with a very intricate survey to post on dating sites in order to find his perfect mate. But when he meets the unpredictable Rosie, things do not go according to plan. It’s hilarious and heartwarming until the very end. There is also a second book, “The Rosie Effect,” but I haven’t had a chance to read it yet.

Amazon.com

Amazon.com

“Looking for Alaska” by John Green. Like most of the world, I loved John Green’s “The Fault in Our Stars.” Like “The Fault in Our Stars,” this book creates characters that are normal and real. Green portrays teenagers as people who have thoughts worth listening to and have lives that are as complicated and wonderful as any adult. It’s a beautiful story, but have tissues at the ready!

Amazon.com

Amazon.com

“The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern. If you like mystery, magic, fantasy and gorgeous imagery, this book is for you! The author, Erin Morgenstern, creates a beautiful world within a circus where anything you can imagine is possible, while a unique and interesting love story slowly unfolds throughout the novel. There were times where I was left with so many questions, I just had to keep reading to see what happened next.

And because I’m always buying new books, here are a few on my want-to-read list:

What are some books you are loving right now or want to read?

Leave a Reply

