Disney’s “Cinderella” is a visual feast

Flickr

Flickr

Two little girls adorned in blue, sparkly dresses squeezed their way past us. I smiled to myself as they settled into their seats to watch the new, live-action “Cinderella.” 

I don’t know many girls who don’t have a favorite Disney princess. While I do think Belle from “Beauty in the Beast” is wonderful, I have always loved the Cinderella story. So much so that my wedding dress was called “Cinderella.” (Seriously, if you are looking for a “fairy tale” wedding dress, check out Alfred Angelo. There is a whole Disney princess line. The gowns are Ah-mazing!)

My favorite version of the Cinderella story is probably “Ever After” with Drew Barrymore, but I was really excited to see that Disney was creating a live-action “Cinderella.”

The movie started off fantastically with a “Frozen” short called “Frozen Fever.” I love “Frozen,” and this short was absolutely adorable. It made me excited for the sequel!

If you are looking for a film that diverges from the classic Disney “Cinderella,” this isn’t it. While the storyline isn’t incredibly inventive, the characters were wonderful. Lily James as Cinderella was sweet and endearing. Richard Madden (AKA Robb Stark from “Game of Thrones) was a great Prince Charming, and I liked that they gave his character a little more depth. One of the best parts of the movie had to be the evil stepmother and stepsisters. They were deliciously wicked, outrageous and so fun to watch. Another wonderful part of the film was the stunning visual effects, especially the costumes.

I truly enjoyed the characters and the film, but it definitely played it safe. Yet, that didn’t really bother me. I knew how it was going to end, but I still enjoyed the visual feast. If you are fond of fairy tales or know a little prince or princess who is, check this one out!

Leave a Reply

