Books that have changed my life

Happy World Book Day! Books have been an enormous part of my life for as long as I can remember. I would read three to four books at a time as a child. While I tend to stick to one at a time now, I’m always looking for the next literary treasure to add to my book shelves. (They are getting extremely full. I need more shelves…)
In honor of this momentous day, I have listed a few books that have had an incredible impact on me.
Amazon.com

Amazon.com

If you know me, this is a given. “Harry Potter” came into my life when I was 9, and I have never been the same since. It yanked me into a fantasy world that I wanted to be a part of, and the characters were like my friends. Not only is the story fantastic and epic, but you can relate to what the characters are going through. They are still young adults trying to navigate being a teenager in a magical and wonderful world. I grew up with Harry and the gang, and they will always, always be a part of who I am.
little house

Amazon.com

It was with these books that I discovered my love of reading. They are the first books I can remember not wanting to put down (as a second grader), and I ended up acquiring the entire series. They are now in storage at my parents’ house, but I love them nonetheless.
anne

Amazon.com

Just writing out the title makes me want to find my copies and reread them. Anne was truly a unique character that I felt was my kindred spirit. I related to her thirst for life, love and knowledge. Her spunk matched her outrageous, red hair. I couldn’t wait to see what happened next in Anne’s journey beginning as a preteen girl to a mother of many children.
sarahdessen.com

sarahdessen.com

I gobbled up Dessen’s stories when I was in high school. They were all about teenage girls dealing with life, love and growing up. Some were more dramatic than others, but she created beautiful stories with characters who had problems anyone could understand and sympathize with. I love her books, and I’m always on the lookout to see if she has written something new.
Amazon.com

Amazon.com

5. “Pride and Prejudice”
I adore Jane Austen, and it was with this novel that I fell in love with classic literature. The premise is simple and timeless. There is a reason it is still so popular today.
hunger games

Barnes and Noble

This is by far one of my favorite trilogies to read over and over again. It’s incredibly fast-paced and keeps you guessing. Plus, Katniss is an incredibly strong, smart and courageous woman ā€” a fantastic role model for any one.
Amazon.com

Amazon.com

I actually think I saw the movie version of “Little Women” before I read the book, but they both are fantastic! In a time when it wasn’t exactly the norm for women to be independent, driven and career-minded, Jo March was exactly that. She was a writer who was focused more on living out her dreams and being successful than finding a husband. It’s a book that will make you laugh and cry, and something I think all young girls should read at some point.
What are some books that have changed your life?
One thought on “Books that have changed my life

  1. sumlynnnguyen says:

    Great list! HP was what got me into reading. Pride and Prejudice is one of my all time favorite classics (East of Eden is another great one if you haven’t already read it). And I can’t agree more about Sarah Dessen, her writing is lyrical and will forever be inspiring!

    Like

Leave a Reply

