Disconnecting for a weekend

I took a little break from social media this weekend. I thought it would be a struggle, but it was refreshing and fairly easy!

I’m on social media quite a bit. I’m in charge of the social media sites for my job, and I also spend my own time on Pinterest, Instagram and of course, Facebook. My phone is with me almost everywhere I go. If I’m standing in line at the grocery store, I scroll through my Facebook feed. During commercials while watching TV, I glance at photos on Instagram. And as much as I hate to admit it, I often look at Pinterest while I’m laying in bed.

When I got up on Saturday morning, I headed to the couch and pulled open my computer to check my email. As I was deleting emails and perusing deals at Old Navy, my dog, Pippin, placed his head on the top of my screen and stared at me. Talk about a guilt trip. It dawned on me that it wouldn’t kill me to disconnect for a couple of days and pay closer attention to the important things in my life. I snapped my computer shut and spent the rest of the weekend avoiding the digital world. I did get on Facebook Sunday morning to wish my niece a happy birthday, but that was the extent of it.

It was really easy on Saturday to resist the urge to tap into my phone. Brett and I went to brunch and hung out at home before he went to work at about 3:30. I ventured to Target and strolled through the store for over an hour. When I got home, I cleaned up the kitchen and made myself dinner. I spent the rest of the night camped out on the couch with our dogs and cats watching “Peaky Blinders” on Netflix. (It’s an awesome show. I highly recommend it.)

Sunday was a little bit harder. Brett left earlier in the day for work, so I had more time to myself. I spent over an hour reading a book (something I need to do more often!), went to the grocery store, took the dogs for a walk, cleaned our bathrooms, vacuumed, swept the kitchen floor and made supper. My phone buzzed a few times with Facebook notifications, but I resisted.

All in all, it was nice not having my eyes glued to a screen throughout the day. I’m pretty good at putting my phone away when Brett and I are on a date or if I’m with friends of family, but it still is a bigger part of my life than it should be. I enjoy seeing what my friends and family are up to and to be in the know about news and events, but I was more focused and productive when I wasn’t distracted by my phone. It’s something I plan to continue to do in the future. 🙂

One thought on “Disconnecting for a weekend

Leave a Reply

