Brett’s birthday and Valentine’s Day

I hope everyone had a very happy and loving Valentine’s Day. 🙂 My hubby’s birthday is two days before Valentine’s Day, so there are a lot of gifts, going to restaurants and indulging on these two days for us!

Brett's birthday dinner at Shogun.

Brett’s birthday dinner at Shogun.

Brett’s parents came to visit us for his birthday, and they arrived the afternoon of his birthday. We ate at Shogun Japanese Steakhouse to celebrate. Brett and I have been there multiple times since moving to Casper. The food, service and entertainment are all delightful!

Since Brett’s birthday and Valentine’s Day are so close together, I usually give him all his gifts at once. My theme for him this year was “Brett’s Favorite Things.” I got him a graphic novel of his favorite video game, “Mass Effect,” a book about another favorite video game, “Dragon Age,” a “Star Wars” T-shirt, a Starbucks giftcard and a “Doctor Who” phone cover. I also made his birthday cake, Better Than Sex Cake. Click here to see the recipe! It’s sooo good.

We spent Friday doing some shopping, dining out and capping off the night by watching “Kingsman: The Secret Service,” a fantastic and funny spy film.

flowers

For Valentine’s Day, Brett spoiled me rotten! He got me a beautiful, red peacoat that I have been wanting for ages, four purple roses for four years together, Starbucks coffee and Runzas! His parents hauled 20 frozen Runzas from Nebraska for me. If you don’t know what a Runza is, check this out.

On Saturday, Brett’s sister was near Casper picking up their family’s new puppy! We made the short trek to see them, have lunch and love on their adorable new puppy, Edgar. 🙂

Sweet little Edgar! I wanted to take him home. :)

Sweet little Edgar! I wanted to take him home. 🙂

After getting back to Casper, we strolled through downtown and did some window shopping. Brett and I even played a quick game of chess in one of the stores!

We ended the night by taking a long walk in the glorious, unseasonably warm weather, grilling steaks and playing cards.

Brett’s parents left early Sunday morning to beat the snow (weird Wyoming weather!), so Sunday was an extremely lazy day for us. I crawled out of bed at about 10 a.m. and watched a movie, “Love, Rosie.” It was OK. We caught up on some of our TV shows, and I started a new book, “The Rosie Project.” (No connection to the movie. Just a strange coincidence)

We capped off the night by watching one of our favorite shows, “The Walking Dead.” The episode was pretty depressing, but it was still a great way to end the weekend!

How was your Valentine’s Day? How do you celebrate birthdays and Valentine’s Day with your spouse?

Leave a Reply

