I’m happy I moved away from home

I don't know what I would do without this guy and our furry children!

I don’t know what I would do without this guy and our furry children!

Moving is never easy. I have lived in three different places in my life, and I’m OK with that. When Brett and I received the opportunity to move to Wyoming, I was definitely on the fence about it. For one, it’s Wyoming. It’s the middle of nowhere in my mind — even though I’m from Nebraska. But I was born and raised on a farm in Nebraska. I met Brett at a Nebraska college, and we got married in a beautiful Nebraska church. Most of our family and friends live there. I wouldn’t have had it any other way. But when that opportunity arose, we had to make a decision. Stay in a place we loved and were comfortable, or take a risk and try something new? After weeks of discussion and agonizing, we decided this could be a good thing for Brett’s career. We made the decision to move.
While many people move thousands of miles from home, we only moved a few hundred miles. However, it still felt like a whole new life to me. You can gaze at the mountains from our window. Snow in April is normal. Wind is a given. Brett’s family isn’t a short drive away. The friends I made in college are no longer around to have a girls’ night with me. And impromptu trips to visit my best friend aren’t exactly in the cards. It’s a little jarring sometimes, and it was incredibly difficult for me to leave the place I loved behind.
I cried when I quit my job. I cried almost every day for a month once we moved. I agonized over finding a new job I liked. I was miserable being at home while Brett worked all day and I sat on the couch scrolling through employment opportunities online. I felt useless, inadequate and ready to give up on this “adventure.” I wanted to take the first job that came my way just to have something to do. But Brett, my family and friends encouraged me to be patient. Good things would happen if I just waited. I secretly thought they were insane.
But soon, I found a job I love. I found friends I adore. Brett and I began getting back into our normal routine of going to the movies, finding great places to eat and parks to walk our dogs, and visiting new places on the weekends. Life was good again.
I don’t consider myself a Wyomingite, and I probably never will. However, I’m proud of how far we have come, especially myself. I can’t say I have learned to be patient (definitely not), but I realize now I’m capable of so much more than I thought I was. And best of all, this move brought Brett and I closer together. He was there for me when I needed him most, and he encouraged and supported me when my confidence was lacking.
I never really had a desire to move away from home, but I’m glad that I did. It has pushed me to step outside my comfort zone, go after the things I want and understand more about myself. In the long run, I think it has made me a better person.
Taking risks are scary, but sometimes they can be worth it. There have been ups and downs in this journey we have embarked on, but it has also put into perspective what Brett and I want out of this life.
I stumbled across this on Buzzfeed. It fits perfectly with my feelings about home. 🙂
Leave a Reply

