Goals for this year and beyond

New Year’s resolutions have never really been my thing. Probably because I was in high school or college, and I was only concerned with celebrating and having fun on New Year’s Eve. Beyond that, I never gave it much thought. Now, I can see why so many people jump on that bandwagon at the beginning of the year. Why wouldn’t you want to set a goal to try to better yourself? It can be something simple, such as eating more fruit or making more time for family. Or maybe you really want to shake things up by training to run a marathon or to travel the world. I always admire people who make changes for the better in their lives, and I want to be one of those people.

I’m setting some goals to better myself for 2015 and beyond. I know I may not attain everything I would like to do, but I’d like to think each little change can lead to something bigger and better.

Here is what I’m hoping to accomplish for my life:

  1. Disconnect! I love my iPhone. I’m one of those annoying people who need to prove myself right, and having the power of Google at my fingertips is kind of amazing. Plus, I can download music and games on it in the blink of an eye. However, do I really need to be scrolling through Facebook, Instagram or Pinterest at 10 p.m. at night? Ugh, no. Put it away! I’d like to think I have gotten much better about this since graduating from college, but I never want to be one of those people who are at dinner and isn’t engaged in conversation with the people I’m with because my phone is glued to my hand. I want to be present and living in the moment sans iPhone.
  2. Read and write more! I have always been an avid reader, but thanks to all the other media surrounding me (mainly TV), I haven’t read as much as I would like to in the past few years. I’m working hard to get in bed earlier to spend an hour or more reading (that’s if I don’t conk out first!). And now that I have a fresh new blog, I want to write a little bit every day. I hope writing this blog will inspire me to take a bigger leap and write short stories, the next great American novel, etc. I can dream, right?
  3. Live healthier! This is by far my biggest challenge. I hate working out, and I love food that is horrible for my health. Sweets and French fries are my downfall. While I still want to indulge every now and then, I want to be the best version of me and feel good about myself. Brett bought me a NutriBullet blender for Christmas, and it’s AH-MAZING!  And I also want to get my heart pumping and sweat dripping once a day.
  4. Become more connected with God. Since meeting Brett, my faith has strengthened considerably. Having a husband with very strong faith and who can answer my questions about religion has helped a lot. My personal knowledge of Christianity isn’t great. I want to find a study Bible that works well for me, and I want to learn more. I’d love to say I have read the Bible in a year, but my goal right now is just reading a little bit each day and expanding my faith.
  5. Give back. I have struggled to find ways to be philanthropic, but it really shouldn’t be that hard. I’d like to find an organization I can volunteer for or just give back in any way I can. I have been pretty blessed to want for little in my life, and I would like to pay it forward to those in need.

By setting realistic goals, I know I’m completely capable of succeeding! Here is to a happy 2015. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Goals for this year and beyond

  1. Hayley says:

    Ashley I like your new blog! 🙂
    All your goals sound great. I volunteer at the Humane Society here for a few reasons. I absolutely love animals, and especially dogs. In the summer, I love to be outside when I’m not at work. The humane society is located next to the river with a super nice pathway that has gorgeous views. So it works out really well for me to walk dogs when I get off work every day. If animals aren’t your thing, you should check out a nursing home or vet’s clinic. Sometimes just playing cards with someone will make their whole week.

    Good luck and happy 2015!! 😀

    Like

    • bebsgirl1 says:

      Thanks, Hayley! I have always wanted to volunteer at the Humane Society. 🙂 I have actually been thinking of donating supplies to some of the local animal shelters around here, but your suggestions are awesome! I hope 2015 is treating you well so far. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

